Ole Miss sweeps 2018 Hootie at Bulls Bay

Ole Miss shot -19 the final round to win the 14th Annual Hootie at Bulls Bay.

Kent State finished two shots back and Kentucky 3 shots back.

Braden Thornberry won the Jackson Moore Medalist honors shooting a 66 the final round totaling 203.  Lukas Euler from Kentucky was 2 back at 205.

Champions:  Ole Miss 841

2nd: Kent State 842

3rd: Kentucky 844

4th: Iowa State 855

5th: Missouri 856

T6th: Auburn & Wisconsin 858

8th: NC State 860

9th: South Carolina 867

10th: College of Charleston 868

11th: Louisville 879

T12th: Eastern Kentucky & Georgia State 880

14th: Georgia Southern 892

15th: Wofford 908




2018 Hootie at Bulls Bay – March 25-27

The field: South Carolina, College of Charleston, Auburn, Kentucky, Eastern Kentucky, Ole Miss, Georgia State, Wofford, Missouri, Louisville, Wisconsin, Georgia Southern, N.C. State, Iowa State and Kent State.

Gamecocks looking to continue Hootie dominance

It took 12 renewals for a team from the Palmetto State to finally break through to win the Hootie at Bulls Bay, one of college golf’s premier events played each spring since 2005. Now, the South Carolina Gamecocks are threatening to make the annual 15-team invitational a 54-hole contest to see who can finish second.

On March 25-27, the Gamecocks will go for an unprecedented fourth straight Hootie championship when Bulls Bay again hosts some of the top collegiate players in the country. Standing in their way will be teams from the College of Charleston, Auburn, Kentucky, Eastern Kentucky, Ole Miss, Georgia State, Wofford, Missouri, Louisville, Wisconsin, Georgia Southern, N.C. State, Iowa State and Kent State.

The event is open to spectators, free of charge.

Until last year, when South Carolina shot 844 to finish four shots ahead of Ole Miss and 10 shots clear of Auburn and N.C. State, no team in Hootie history had ever won the tournament three times, much less three times in a row.  But that all changed in 2017, despite the fact that Mississippi’s Ben Walcott, who claimed medalist honors at 12-under-par 204, and his Rebel teammate, Braden Thorneberry, 205, finished one-two in the individual scoring.

This year, Greenville senior Keenan Huskey, the 2016 individual Hootie champion who finished third at Bulls Bay last year, is back to lead the Gamecocks in their quest for a Hootie ‘quadruple.’ Also returning for South Carolina will be juniors Scott Stevens and Will Miles, both of whom posted one-under 215 scores to finish in a tie for 17th at Bulls Bay one year ago.

As always, tournament “week” tees off on Friday, March 23 with a one-day tournament for sponsors and guests, followed by a special concert for tournament participants, coaches, sponsors and guests by the tournament’s namesake band, Hootie and the Blowfish, that night.

On Saturday afternoon, college players will team with sponsors in an 18-hole team event that precedes an evening cookout and auction.

The Hootie at Bulls Bay Collegiate will be played Sunday through Tuesday.  Spectators are welcome to watch the up and coming tour stars.


2017 Hootie at Bulls Bay – March 26-28

South Carolina wins 3rd consecutive Hootie at Bulls Bay!

1st- South Carolina 844

2nd- Mississippi 848

Tie 3rd- Auburn 854

Tie 3rd- North Carolina State 854

5th- Georgia State 859

6th- Kentucky 860

7th- Purdue 861

8th- Missouri 862

9th- Kansas 863

10th- Virginia 864

11th- College of Charleston 867

12th- Houston 875

13th- Richmond 881

14th- Charleston Southern 887

15th- Wisconsin 900


2016 Hootie at Bulls Bay

The University of South Carolina Gamecocks defended their title!


They shot -23 and won by 15 shots over the College of Charleston Cougars. South Carolina’s Keenan Huskey took the Jackson Moore Medalist honor shooting 65-71-69=205 (-11).

1st – South Carolina 841

2nd- College of Charleston 856

3rd- Auburn 861

4th- Wake Forest 864

5th- Charleston Southern 866

6th- Missouri 868

7th- Duke 870

8th- Kansas 871

9th- North Carolina State 872

10th- Troy 883

11th- Kentucky 883

12th- Wofford 885

13th- Maryland 887

14th- Akron 890

15th- Wisconsin 901

For full results go to www.golfstatresults.com


Tournament Results History

2017 University of South Carolina 279-286-279=844
Ben Wolcott, Ole Miss 67-68-69=204
2016 University of South Carolina 277-284-280=841
Keenan Huskey, USC 65-71-69=205
2015 University of South Carolina 280-287-271—838
*Matthew Nesmith, USC 69-68-68—205
2014 Auburn 285-294-273-852
* Ben Stow, Kentucky 69-73-67—209
>2013 Duke University 302-288-284—874
Logan Harrell, NC State 74-73-66—213
2012 Auburn 285-275-294—854
Niclas Carlsson, Auburn 70-70-71—211
2011 LSU 281-284-284—849
Mitchell Sutton, NC State 67-72-68—207
2010 LSU 288-278-279—845
Matt Hill, N.C. State 68-67-69—204
2009 Augusta State 286-272-277—835
Janne Kaske, Augusta State 67-67-65—199
2008 N.C. State 288-279-271—838
Matt Hill, N.C. State 71-67-66—204
2007 *Wake Forest 283-279-278—840
Wallace Booth, Augusta State 71-69-65—205
2006 Wake Forest 275-277-290—842
Jamie Miller, Augusta State 70-64-70—204
2005 *Kentucky 290-287-289—866
Scott Jamieson, Augusta State/td> 66-71-68—205
* — Won in playoff.